Put Kenya's data centres head to head.
Choose up to four facilities and read them side by side, capacity, racks, tier, AI readiness, connectivity and power. Every figure is sourced and dated; nothing here is behind a signup wall.
Comparing 3 of 4 facilities
Pick up to 4, the table below updates and the link stays shareable.
Showing a default trio to start from, add and remove facilities above to build your own comparison.
| Specification | LiveiXAfrica NBOX1iXAfrica Data Centres | LiveAfrica Data Centres Nairobi 1 (NBO1)Africa Data Centres | LiveiColo Nairobi Two (NBO2)iColo (Digital Realty) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Operational | Operational | Operational |
| Operator | iXAfrica Data Centres | Africa Data Centres | iColo (Digital Realty) |
| Location | Cabanas, Mombasa Road, Industrial Area, Nairobi | Sameer Business Park, Block A, Mombasa Road, Nairobi | Bogani East Road, Karen, Nairobi, Nairobi |
| Live IT load | 4.5 MW | Not disclosed / not live | Not disclosed / not live |
| Designed capacity | 22.5 MWLeads | 7.5 MW | 6.4 MW |
| Racks | 780 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Tier rating | Tier III | Tier III | Not disclosed |
| Facility type | Hyperscale | Colocation | Colocation |
| AI-ready | Yes | No | No |
| Opened / expected | 2024 | 2019 | 2026 |
| Cooling | Free-air cooling (operator-stated) | Hot/cold-aisle containment; non-potable water used in cooling | N+2 cooling (per Digital Realty listing) |
| Power source | Kenya Power grid + on-site diesel generators | Kenya Power + diesel backup | 2N power; master plan includes a captive substation consuming over 20 MW at full build |
| Renewable claim | Kenya grid is 75%+ renewable (geothermal, hydro, wind) | None on record | None on record |
| Connectivity | Liquid Datapoint (Fibre) · WIOCC (Submarine) · SEACOM (Submarine) · Telkom Kenya (Fibre) · Safaricom (Fibre) · KIXP (IXP) · LINX Nairobi (IXP) | Liquid Datapoint (Fibre) · SEACOM (Submarine) · WIOCC (Submarine) · KIXP Nairobi (IXP) · LINX Nairobi (IXP) · BGP.Exchange (IXP) · PLUGINS IX (IXP) | Not disclosed |
| Certifications | Not disclosed | PCI DSS | ISO 27001 · PCI DSS |
| Data confidence | High | High | Medium |
| Last verified | September 2026 | September 2026 | September 2026 |
| Notable | Phase one (NBOX1.1) unveiled 28 February 2025 alongside a new KIXP point of presence, with LINX Nairobi also on site. Operator cites up to 40 kW per rack and a campus PUE target of 1.25. On 27 January 2026 iXAfrica announced it will host Oracle Cloud Infrastructure's Nairobi region, no launch date given. Official campus specs (retrieved 22 September 2026): NBOX1.1 live at 4.5 MW with 780 racks; NBOX1.2 adds 18 MW with 3,744 racks, for a campus design of 22.5 MW. | Opened as East Africa Data Centre (EADC) and rebranded under Cassava Technologies, "East Africa Data Centre" and "Africa Data Centres Nairobi" are the same building. Operator states 2,000 m² of secured server space, "available site capacity 7.5 MW", four data halls certified Uptime Institute Tier 3, and PCI DSS (first in the region). Exchanges on site: KIXP Nairobi, LINX Nairobi, BGP.Exchange, PLUGINS IX. | Launched 7 September 2026 at an event attended by ICT Principal Secretary John Tanui, who framed it as part of Kenya's push to become East Africa's leading digital hub. Designed to serve cloud providers, financial institutions, enterprises and ISPs. Developing Telecoms reported (August 2024) a 6.5 MW IT load within a master plan of three data centres; the Digital Realty listing describes a 3,600 m² building with 2N power, N+2 cooling, PCI-DSS, ISO 27001 and 90-day CCTV retention. Capacity is 6.4 MW per Digital Realty's launch announcement (7 September 2026); an earlier iColo X post (January 2026) and Developing Telecoms (August 2024) cited 6.5 MW IT load, recorded as a pre-launch discrepancy. Digital Realty's listing places NBO2 on the Karen campus about 300 m from NBO1. |
| Full profile | View | View | View |
Reading this table: a cyan Leads flag marks the highest figure in a row, it is not an endorsement, and “Not disclosed” means the operator has not published the figure, not that it is zero. Every value carries a source and a verification date on the facility's own profile, see the methodology.